Preparing For The PS4 – A Renovation Story

PS4-1

I’m taking a small hiatus from my usual “A Week In Gaming” post, since the game I wanted to write about only just arrived on Friday evening, and since I had obligations on Saturday I didn’t get a chance to play it. Instead, I decided to share my plans to finally convert to the PlayStation 3 once and for all in order to prepare for the PlayStation 4. Since I don’t plan on purchasing an Xbox One for a long time (if at all), I’ll be making the PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4 my main consoles for the end of this gaming generation and through the next generation.

I have over 40,000 gamerscore on the Xbox 360 which was achieved though playing over 100 games, so I can’t realistically transfer everything over by repurchasing it for the PlayStation 3 and playing it again. I don’t have that kind of time or money. My aim is to simply repurchase my favorite games for the PlayStation 3 so that I have them over there, and if any of those saves carry over in the future it wont be an issue since I’ll already be prepared. Plus, it never hurts to replay your favorite games, am I right?

The first (and possibly only) wave of games to be repurchased for the PlayStation 3 includes the following:

  • The Mass Effect Trilogy
  • The Tomb Raider Trilogy (Legend, Anniversary, Underworld)
  • Tomb Raider
  • Bioshock Infinite (includes Bioshock)
  • Bioshock 2
  • Alice: Madness Returns (includes American McGee’s Alice)
  • DmC: Devil May Cry

These are some of my all time favorite games. I have no qualms about repurchasing these titles so that I can play them again and have data for them over on the PlayStation 3, since they are amazing. Some other games I have been meaning to buy again for a while and will do so around the time I start buying the above games are the Resistance and Killzone collections.

I’ll be pre-ordering my PlayStation 4 soon enough. I also hope to get a newer, bigger television before then since I have an older 32″ flatscreen that is on its last leg. I found a really awesome Vizio (the brand of my current TV) 47″ LED TV for about $550. The best part is that it’s at Target and since I work there I will get a good deal with my employee discount and whatnot. If I am getting all this stuff then I will also need a new entertainment center, as mine barely holds the stuff I already have. Basically, this whole thing is going to be a big expense, but it will be so worth it in my opinion – and all kinds of fun!

Anyway, that concludes all my random thoughts and ideas for this week. Next week I should be back into the groove with a new “Week in Gaming” post. You can expect me to finally discuss Fuse, also I should be giving my initial impression on Remember Me which releases this upcoming Tuesday. Until next time folks, have a great week!

~LadyCroft3

2 thoughts on “Preparing For The PS4 – A Renovation Story”

  1. You mam, have good taste. I can say this with certainty because Alice, instead of some other game you could have mentioned, made your list.

    Did you know American McGee is trying to get a third Alice going? Supposedly the plot will center around Alice being stuck in “Otherland”, AKA floating between the dreamspace/heads of other people. Perhaps most interestingly, the heads famous writers and thinker present in London at that time (like Jules Verne).

    It’s also supposed to have multiplayer. But let’s not talk about that.

    1. I have heard about that new Alice game, I read an article about it awhile back and was so excited. I hope it doesn’t have multiplayer though…
      I heard that American McGee might start up a Kickstarter campaign for it and I though “Shut up and take my money!”
      I would donate tons of money to that if it ever happened. Those games are just so fantastic. I’ve been a huge Alice in Wonderland fan for a long time and I really just adore his take on the classic story. Very cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

