Having a Backlog is Painful

FFD

I’m one of those people who can’t not finish a game once it’s been started. As a result, I have to be very careful about which games I start. If I have too many games on the go without finishing them, I begin to feel guilty for some odd reason. I catalogue my ongoing games on my Backloggery account, which could probably be more accurately referred to as a wall of shame. Sometimes, I look at my long list of half-completed games and sigh, not knowing when I’ll ever have the time to give them enough attention.

The feeling of completing a game and putting it on the shelf is super-satisfying to me. When I approach the end of a game, I hate stringing it out any longer; I just want the damn thing to be done and over with. I know some people dread the fun being over so soon, but trust me, I rarely feel that way, even regarding games that I love.

I’ve been chipping away at Final Fantasy Dimensions for about seven months now and it’s been slowly eroding my soul. The game kinda sucks, which certainly doesn’t help, but the excruciatingly long running time (I believe some speedruns place it at 40 hours; I’m currently sitting at about 55 and I’m on the second-to-last dungeon) and the incredibly high random encounter rate have done their best to really make me resent my policies on completing games. Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door recently found its way back into my life, and I’m really itching to give that one a go, but I’ve got FFD, Kirby’s Return to Dreamland, Alan Wake, Lost Odyssey, and Xenoblade Chronicles all awaiting completion. All these 60-hour RPGs are making me cry.

Ideally, I should be playing one console game and one handheld game at a time. That’s what I’m trying to work my way down to, anyway. I’m really hoping to finish off Lost Odyssey before August, FFD before the end of the week, and the rest of them before the summer is over. I’m also playing a few games that don’t really have defined “ends” per se, like Star Wars: The Old Republic and Animal Crossing: City Folk, so that’s probably not helping either.

As I write this, I’m sitting in a hotel room watching the Stanley Cup Final. I already decided that a good chunk of my travel downtime is going to be spent catching up on my writing, as well as finishing up Oliver Twist (that’s a book, not a game, of course). But hopefully I can spend a few hours on the toilet finishing up FFD too, y’know?

8 thoughts on “Having a Backlog is Painful”

  1. I think I have about 10 that I had started , including Resident Evil 4 that I started during the holidays, but didn’t finish. It’s still in the console waiting to be played again. I’ll pick it up again anytime during this summer vacation , and hopefully finish it so i can play RE5, my brother’s Christmas gift to me.

    1. It’s always the worst when you have an entire series to play, but you know that only the later games are the good ones. I still have to force myself to play them in order.

  2. Thank god I don’t have many RPGS. Then again, the whole Assassin’s creed franchise is still there, lonely and dusty, on my steam library. I think we all need to stop buying games :p

    Nope. Not happening.

  3. I totally agree! One of the most painful things about gaming is having a list of games you need to complete in a set time. I like to take time in my games and soak everything in, but when I know I’ve got others to complete as well I just can’t allow myself to do it.

Leave a Reply

