A Week In Gaming – Deadpool and Mass Effect 2

Deadpool1

Deadpool: The Game:

Deadpool’s very own game, staring none other than the ever-so-awesome Deadpool himself, was released this past week. Developed by High Moon Studios and published by Activision, Deadpool: The Game brings the awkwardly hilarious comic book anti-hero to life – and it’s amazing. In the game, Deadpool is aware that he is in a video game and is actually directing it as the game progresses. Constantly breaking the fourth wall to talk to the player directly and staying in contact with High Moon Studios in-game via his cell phone, Deadpool really brings the game to life. He boisterous attitude and aptitude for violence along with his comedic approach to everything make the game outrageously entertaining. Big surprise, no? The game also features plenty of other Marvel universe characters like Wolverine, Psylocke, Cable, and Mister Sinister.

Deadpool2

Deadpool, voiced by Nolan North, brings a lot to the table in the way of comedy and kick ass combat. The gameplay is hack and slash style with platforming elements. You control Deadpool so naturally you’ll have access to all kinds of weapons and guns. There is an XP system that is used to unlock new weapons (sais, hammers, etc.), guns (shotguns, assault rifles, etc.), and throwables (bear-traps, mines, etc.) to mix and match in gameplay. There are some minor yet annoying flaws in the gameplay mechanics, none of which make the game unplayable, but all of which become annoying at one point or another. One of the main annoyances for me happens to be the wonky free aim shooting mechanics, but there are some other equally confusing aspects to the gameplay. I must say that overall, the game is great. If you get some downtime and a little cash in the next few months and are looking for a fun game to play, Deadpool: The Game is the way to go.

Mass Effect 2:

So I have been streaming Mass Effect 2 for the past couple of weeks and as I near the suicide mission and final portion of the game I wanted to go over some of my favorite parts of the game with you all. I’m sure most of you have played the game, but I may spoil a few things for those who haven’t so just beware of that.

So one of the best things about Mass Effect 2 is its DLC. The Overlord DLC is one of the most interesting DLC’s I have ever played. I really love the storyline and the dark direction it takes. The mission itself is completely unique and intriguing, leaving the player a little out of the loop until the end. However the best DLC in the game is Lair of the Shadow Broker.

Liara1

Being back with Liara while helping her find, take down, and ultimately become the Shadow Broker was an amazing experience. The story was well written and the gameplay was equally fun and challenging. I also loved the environments involved, mainly going to more areas on Illium and then the Shadow Broker’s ship. While streaming, I romanced Liara in Mass Effect for the first time (I usually go solo, though I was with Kaiden at one point). This made the Shadow Broker DLC, mainly my interactions with Liara, a lot different that what I was used to. Prior to going on the mission I made a commitment to romance Garrus, and Liara knew this, so our conversation about “us” was heartbreaking. I have always loved both Liara and Garrus so being stuck between the two was hard, ultimately I chose to stick with Garrus and Liara totally understood, one of the main reasons I have always considered her to be Shepard’s best friend. Speaking of relationships, let’s get to my other favorite aspect of Mass Effect 2.

Relationships, both romantic and platonic, make this series what it is for me and in Mass Effect 2 they really took off. I have never before had such a strong connection to a group of characters in a game like I have in the Mass Effect series. Building friendships and sparking romances brings the game together. Any game can have a fantastic storyline and great gameplay, but when you throw in a handful of unforgettable friends it’s just that much better as a game.

I consider my Shepard’s best friends to be Garrus, Tali, and Liara. This is mostly due to these three are prominent in all three games. Characters like Dr. Chakwas and Joker also fall into that group of people who have been by Shepard’s side 100% of the time. Characters like Miranda, Jack, Samara, Kasumi, Thane, etc. come in and make a huge impact, but nothing like the one made by those original three. Because of this I have always chosen to take my relationship with Garrus to another level and make him my romantic partner in both Mass Effect 2 and Mass Effect 3. I feel wrong being with anyone else at this point, and until this most recent playthrough I was never even with someone in the first Mass Effect. Anyway, I’m ready to finish streaming Mass Effect 2 and move on to Mass Effect 3, though I don’t think my body is ready for all those feels right now…

I hope you all had fun reading this week’s gaming post! Next week I plan on discussing something, but I’m just not sure what yet… Since I wont be getting any new games for a while I will probably not be doing a “Week in Gaming” style post, but I don’t know. See you all next week for whatever it is I come up with.

~LadyCroft3

2 thoughts on “A Week In Gaming – Deadpool and Mass Effect 2”

  1. Nice post! I want to play Deadpool so much now. And I totally agree with you about the Garrus romance! I’m with him on almost every playthrough, and it’s really hard for me to romance anybody else. As you said, he and Tali are special because you spend so much time with them over the course of all three games, so I can see why they’re such popular romance options. And Garrus is the most loyal friend to Shep of the whole crew, I think. =)

    1. Indeed, Garrus is loyal to the max. I imagine Tali to be like my best girl friend, if we weren’t saving the galaxy from Reapers we would be out drinking martini’s and buying shoes. Liara is special to me as well, and with the most recent romancing of her I have only grown more fond of her. Those three are my homies though, that crew for life! Haha 😀

Leave a Reply

