Animal Crossing

Animal Crossing: My New Obsession

Animal Crossing

The last game that completely dominated my life was Fire Emblem: Awakening. I bought it in late January due to a shipping mishap and didn’t stop playing it until about mid-May. Since then, I’ve been going back and forth through a few different time-wasters like Final Fantasy Dimensions and Star Wars: The Old Republic, but nothing’s really grabbed me since.

About two weeks ago, a friend of mine intimated that he was considering purchasing Animal Crossing: New Leaf. This took me by surprise, since he’s never played any Animal Crossing games in the past and has never shown any interest in the series whatsoever. The two of us play a lot of obscure games together, even some that would be considered casual, but I didn’t think a game about interior decoration and fuzzy animal neighbours was really his jam. When he took the plunge, I found my excuse to pick up the game for myself.

I didn’t really need New Leaf, because I had just bought City Folk for my sisters and we were knee-deep in that particular iteration at the time (still are, in fact). But boy, was buying New Leaf ever a great idea. This game is by far the best version of the series, so much so that it makes the broad leap from 2002’s Animal Crossing to Wild World look much smaller by comparison, while also making the pitiful jump from Wild World to City Folk (the latter game being basically a slightly enhanced Wii port of Wild World) look downright pathetic. If you’ve ever considered buying an Animal Crossing game, and you’ve never played one before, you’re in for a treat with New Leaf. In the past, I would’ve said that if you’ve played Wild World then there’s no point in playing any of the others, but New Leaf is worth double-dipping now (or in my case, quadruple-dipping).

I tend to play a lot of games solo, even if they have online multiplayer. Yet for some reason, I really enjoy the online multiplayer in New Leaf, so much so that I genuinely look forward to visiting other people’s towns. I like seeing how they’ve customized things, which residents they have, how far along their Main Street has come, what their native fruit is, what their home is like, what they’re wearing, etc. I went to my Twitter pal Milin‘s town a few days ago and really just screwed around; I didn’t really do anything that helped me progress in-game except steal a bunch of his fruit. Yet we had 4 people in the town, partied in his pad, dug holes around his house, and despite none of it really making an impact on our in-game progress or really consisting of much other than just hanging out, it was still a memorable experience. Pictures were even taken to document the occasion. Altogether, it was an oddly compelling online experience, and one I admit I kind of prefer to traditional multiplayer.

So, with that being said, if any of you have the game and want to get some multiplayer New Leaf going, I’m totally down to play. You can follow me on Twitter and DM me your Friend Code, or just email it to me at pixelbubble@gmail.com. Sound good?

6 thoughts on “Animal Crossing: My New Obsession”

  1. Animal Crossing: New Leaf has also been a fixation of mine, and was recommended to me by several employees at my local Game Stop. I was quasi-familiar with the concept of the game, having played several iterations of the Harvest Moon series on the DS/3DS; the great (yet sometimes frustrating) aspect of Animal Crossing that the game play is in real time. It’s an utterly brilliant concept to ensure continued game play. I also tend to play games solo, so the streetpass/ spotpass feature help a lot. And even with all the great games that will be released this summer/fall for the 3DS, I suspect I’ll be spending much of my time in my Animal Crossing town.

  2. I have been chomping at the bit for this game! I haven’t been able to purchase it yet but I haven’t really heard one bad thing about it. Even people that don’t usually play the Animal Crossing games are finding it quaint and charming at the least and life consuming at the most. I’m so excited to get a hold of it.

    1. If you tried the original and didn’t like it, I would say you probably wouldn’t like New Leaf. The 3DS iteration has tons of improvements both minor and major, but it still has the same core gameplay of the GameCube original. You’ll still be hunting for bugs and fish to grind for money.

Leave a Reply

