The Future of Tomb Raider Through the Eyes of a Fan

TRbaw1

A new Tomb Raider comic book series was announced at the 2013 San Diego Comic con. Written by famous comic book scribe Gail Simone and published by Dark Horse comics, this series will involve the newly rebooted Lara Croft and take place directly after this years video game release, following the newly established cannon. Are you getting this? A new Tomb Raider comic book series with ridiculous talent behind it is incoming! Fans rejoice!

Wait, there’s more. This comic book series announcement was extra special for fans because it was two-fold: Not only is a comic book series involving the new Tomb Raider cannon coming out, it will be leading directly into a video game sequel. That’s right – a SEQUEL. Acting as a bridge between the newest Tomb Raider game and its upcoming sequel, this comic book will (I assume) lay the groundwork between the games and get us all ready for a brand new adventure with Lara Croft! The comic book series is said to be coming out in February 2014, the video game sequel has not been officially revealed and does not have any kind of release date or further information.

TombRaiderComic

My first thought was “no way” when a friend of mine brought this to my attention. I looked it up and was pleasantly surprised by what I saw. I’ve been a huge Tomb Raider fan since the first game’s release back in 1996. I have always been drawn to the games and their famous heroine, and I assume I always will be. When the reboot came out earlier this year I was ecstatic. It was a great game and a fantastic new way to portray Lara Croft. I’m really excited about a comic book series, but I’m even more excited about the reveal of a planned video game sequel. I was worried there may not be one due to Square Enix’s reports on low profitability and poor sales.

One of the cooler things about all of this is that Gail Simone is a gamer herself, and has said that she loves classic Lara Croft and that this opportunity is compelling to her. That’s very cool. I feel like the best comic books are written by people who like the universe and characters they are writing about, which is obvious. I mean we all know that writing/talking about things we like is much more informative and fun than talking about stuff we don’t really care about. I can’t wait to hear more information about this series and the video game sequel, I love to know what Lara has been up to since her adventure in the Dragon’s Triangle. It feels great to be a Tomb Raider fan right now!

One thought on “The Future of Tomb Raider Through the Eyes of a Fan”

Leave a Reply

