Animal Crossing

Doing “Chores” In Animal Crossing

Animal Crossing

Boy, I’m sure getting a lot of mileage out of that header, eh?

I’m not a morning person at all. When I wake up, it’s a struggle to get out of bed and get in the shower, no matter how much sleep I got last night. I also tend to wake up an hour or so in advance of whenever I actually need to be up, so I can either risk getting another hour of fitful sleep and praying I’ll be more awake after some additional pillowtime, or I can just sit there miserably, slowly waking up. Neither option tends to make me particularly happy, so what I’ve been doing lately is sitting in bed and playing some Animal Crossing: New Leaf before I go about my day.

For the last few weeks, I’ve had an Animal Crossing “routine” that I developed to minimize my playtime while maximizing my town maintenance. When all the dust settles, my chores usually take me less than a half-hour, which is perfect for slowly waking up in the morning and then putting away the 3DS to go shower and eat breakfast. The chores are a combination of preventing natural town decay and adding to my collection of emotions/furniture/clothing/museum crap.

After staring at the ceiling for a few minutes and picking a random deity to help me through the coming drudgery of the day, I’ll reach over to my bedside table and grab my 3DS. I’ll then put my phone back down when I eventually figure out it’s not my 3DS (takes a while when I’m groggy), and I’ll grab that instead. The first thing I do is make a complete circuit of my town, pulling any weeds and watering any flowers I may come across. Whenever I see a rock, I’ll hit it with a shovel until I’ve found both the money rock and the gemstone rock. I’ll stop in at The Roost to get a coffee, despite this being a total waste of money with no tangible effect on gameplay and despite the fact that I don’t even drink coffee in real life (although given my issues with waking up, I probably should). I’ll also stop by Lloid’s public works project and spoonfeed him a few Bells to build a vastly overpriced park bench or whatever. I’ll continue with my circuit until I’m sure I’ve found both special rocks, plucked all the weeds, watered all the wilted flowers, uncovered all four fossils, and picked an apple for Dr. Shrunk. After that, I hit up Main Street.

I always head to the right side of Main Street first and get my fossils appraised by Blathers. I only have like six left to find, so he usually gives ’em all back to me so I can get dat sweet $$$ from Reese. I also pop upstairs while I’m at the museum and drop off any gyroids or gemstones into one of the exhibit rooms I’ve set up solely for gyroid/gemstone storage. Next, I check Kicks, the Able Sisters’, and T&T Mart for any clothing or furniture I think I might want. I always buy out all of the flower seeds in Leif’s garden shop just because I’m trying to make my town faaabulous, even though it’s more plants to water later on and they’re all just going to die when I eventually put my character into cryosleep. Tom Crook’s store also gets a visit to see whether there are any fancy new exterior renovations available (although my house looks damn fine as it is, thank you very much), and then it’s over to da club where I give Shrunk his fruit and he programs a new emotion into my robot soul. I exit Main Street, sell all my extraneous crap to Reese, add my new purchases to my home or to storage, and then that’s it. Thirty minutes or less every morning, and my town looks great.

I’m still adhering to this routine fairly rigidly, but a few days ago, I paid off my entire mortgage. I usually view this as a “completion” of Animal Crossing (despite the fact that there’s still a crap-ton of stuff I could save up Bells for), so I’m unsure how much longer these chores will hold my interest. Eventually, I’ll take a deep breath and consign my town to the ravages of time, allowing weeds to proliferate, flowers to die, neglected villagers to move away, cockroaches to colonize my mansion, and so on. I’ve done this many times before with many different Animal Crossing towns, and it’s never an easy decision. To date, I’ve spent over a month’s worth of playtime on making my town beautiful, and to let that all go to waste…sigh. On the other hand, playing a few minutes of Animal Crossing in the AM sure makes my mornings a lot easier, so it’s possible I’ll keep doing my “chores” even when there’s no longer any point to them.

Leave a Reply

