Call of Duty: Ghosts multiplayer gameplay — The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly

CODG

Call of Duty: Ghosts multiplayer has been speckled around multiple channels on YouTube showing off a small taste of some Alpha gameplay that is already generating mixed responses from gamers. Me included. I’ve learned to carry a certain amount of skepticism for Call of Duty games, and honestly any kind of yearly release in general, but after the negativity that Modern Warfare 3 created (I hated it), Infinity Ward has a lot of proving to do, and I’m just not sure that they can satisfy me. However, my opinions stem from a competitive background instead of casual play, so they may differ from yours.

Black Ops 2 really made me appreciate Treyarch’s movements to help support competitive gameplay. League Play was a genuinely awesome addition that effectively separated the experience of general play and a skilled atmosphere. Competitive gaming does take a larger amount of skill, and it is nice to be able to team up with some people that actually understand how the game works, and can skillfully improve a team’s chance of winning and rising up the ranks.

Admittedly, I haven’t looked too far into the information given about Ghosts multiplayer besides the occasional YouTube video, but from past experience, Infinity Ward tends to cater more toward the new players. Killstreaks will feed off each other, meaning if I get a certain amount of kills from one streak, that will travel toward the amount of kills I need to earn the next streak… a cheap tool to obtain more kills which, in my opinion, cheapens the objective gameplay (assuming you’re playing something other than Team Deathmatch). While this may not be as dramatic as I’m making it out to be, it’s these small qualities that really turn me away as a competitive player.

I do enjoy the additions of gametypes such as Cranked and Search and Rescue, which may add a nice twist to games such as Search and Destroy, Kill Confirmed, and Team Deathmatch, but I worry about having too much a selection of games which could cause the amount of players to thin. The multiplayer looks fun and different (as different as a CoD game can be), and I will for sure appreciate the detail of customization that can be used. Females finally exist! But in a generation of games such as GTA V as well as the upcoming next-gen titles, Ghosts doesn’t really hold too much of my attention. Will I eventually get the game? Most likely. But I refuse to hold my breath for a Call of Duty game that will entertain me as much as Call of Duty 4 or Black Ops 2.

Leave a Reply

