My excitement for GTA V may be a bit unhealthy… but that’s perfectly okay!

GTAV

GTA V comes out in eight days, and I’m kind of feeling like a kid waiting for her birthday. Time is moving way too damn slow! I have a bunch of stuff to do like bicycle riding through Los Santos, skydiving out of jets, base jumping off of buildings that I crash my jet on, finding a new jet after I crash my jet, maybe some golf when I can’t find another jet, hunting for Bigfoot because he definitely does exist (you better not tell me otherwise), and spending my hard-earned cash on properties and other things I don’t need. I also have to play some tennis. I hate tennis but I’m excited to play it. What have you done to me, Rockstar?!

Every other GTA fan is probably experiencing the same feelings I am. The sweaty palms, the stuttered speech, the awkward daydreams where you drool and you don’t realize it… oh wait, that’s just me? No it’s not! GTA V is sounding more and more like the Grand Theft Auto game I’ve always fantasized about. And I can’t even describe my excitement for GTA Online. With the exception of maybe Dragon Age: Inquisition, GTA Online is an experience I’m looking forward to above all else.

I am this guy. And I'm not even ashamed.
I am this guy. And I’m not even ashamed.

This is going to be a dream for the GTA player that enjoys the free-roaming experience outside of the storytelling. So in order to maybe relate with some of you other crazy dudes out there (I know you’re out there), here’s a list of what I’m looking forward to the most in GTA V and Online.

xl_gta-online-screenshot-5-624

 

1. Buy an apartment

Apartment-buying is tough when you don’t have any money. Luckily, there will always be some type of job to do in Los Santos, which is fantastic considering I want a kick-ass place my friends can come hang out at. While we know the basic fact that apartments can be bought, I haven’t really heard much about customizing it. Can you transform the interior into a place that is unique to you? While ultimately it really doesn’t matter to me, no one else better not have the same apartment as I do, otherwise I’m going to shoot you… which is completely possible! But not everyone has to come hang out all at once! While some weird strangers may get high on my couch (it was confirmed that you can do that with screen-altering effects), the rest of you may be in an intense car chase on the news… and I can watch that with my strangers-that-may-eventually-be-friends on my television. How cool is that?

 

Grand-Theft-Auto-Online-Gets-First-Screenshots-376125-5

2. Understanding the importance of money

Money can be lost in GTA Online, and I’m guessing in a world where you don’t know for sure just how loyal your teammates are, this is something to worry about. ATMs and banks are a lifesaver in GTA Online where you can deposit and withdraw cash whenever you need to. What’s cool, though, is the fact that you’ll apparently have some type of credit card. Your “iFruit” phone can also help you manage your funds. Making these steps to insure your earnings is important since any cash you carry can be stolen if you die. What’s also interesting is the moral decisions you and other players can make. If you and I decide to rob a liquor store and I’m the one carrying the cash when we masterfully escape the police, I can choose how to divide that. Since I’m a nice person (unless you’re a douche), I’ll probably dish out a 50/50 split. However someone else might choose to take the money and run. Or if you’re the one carrying the dough, I could just kill you and run off with it. That’s just how it works.

Grand-Theft-Auto-Online-Gets-First-Screenshots-376125-8

3. Having car insurance/personal repair man

This sounds weird, doesn’t it? But I have a feeling it’s going to be extremely important. From what I’ve heard, GTA Online tries to motivate you to legally purchase your vehicle, and while this is something I plan on doing, I know how the world works. Some douchebag with a rocket launcher is going to run by and blow it up… or steal it. But fortunately, with car insurance, you’re covered and can have it replaced. Small qualities like this makes the world seem a lot more (kind of) realistic. Y’know, in a crime-filled kind of realistic way. In addition to insurance, you can also hire your own personal $50 a day repair man. Supposedly he’ll repair your car as well as deliver it to you no matter where you’re at. Unfortunately he won’t touch stolen cars, which brings me to my next topic…

 

GTA-Online-7-610x344

4. Steal and mod cars

Crime is key in any GTA game and obviously GTA Online isn’t going to be any different. If I see a nice car on the street, I can attempt to steal it. What’s interesting is that you can mod your stolen car (change the look, plates, etc.), but unfortunately some places won’t touch stolen cars, and if the police catch you with stolen plates, you’ll end up in trouble. Which in my case normally happens quite often. Car customization, however, is going to be awesome. I’ve actually recently returned to San Andreas just for the sake of nostalgia, and the customization really makes the game shine– even as outdated as it is. Being able to directly influence your cars and your character is always a nice touch… but now it’s going to be nice to customize my own personal avatar.

 

GTA-5-screenshot-4

5. Character customization

I was immediately interested by GTA Online’s character creation. While not too much has been revealed, the idea is certainly a cool thought. DNA is what the character creator focuses on. So instead of just choosing certain looks and attributes, you will have to pick certain traits that your parents have in a hereditary-based creation system, and then use a gene dominance meter to kind of tweak which parent you take after the most. What I’m just finding out, however, is that your character will have a life outside of your playtime.

For example, you’ll be able to customize your daily activities which will ultimately impact your character’s appearance and skills. You may be a gym maniac or a couch potato or a routine criminal, and those details with affect who your character is. But while your character may build certain skills that way, you’ll be able to manually rank up during gameplay.

This is all just a small taste of what I’m looking forward to in GTA V/Online (I can ramble about it all day). What are you looking forward to? If you’re planning on getting it, what system will you be playing it on?

For those of you planning on playing it on the PS3, make sure you add me (PSN: PhoenixDownnn) so we can cause some chaos when GTA Online drops.

 

 

3 thoughts on “My excitement for GTA V may be a bit unhealthy… but that’s perfectly okay!”

  1. Well…when I get the money to purchase the game…and a console to play it in (or if it ever gets released for PC…and I get a better PC)….the world won’t even know I existed :O

  2. I’m with you 100%! This one week is already feeling like an eternity! Think there might be a “sick day” or three in my future…or at least a few sleepless nights.

Leave a Reply

