A Week in Gaming: Diablo III on Consoles

diablo-3

Two weeks ago Blizzard Entertainment’s Diablo III was released on the Xbox 360 and the PlayStation 3, making it the only Diablo game to appear on console. The game was previously only available for the PC so this was big news for console gamers who had yet to play it. I personally purchased Diablo III on the PC a few weeks after it came out in early 2012. I have a love/hate relationship with PC gaming though, and played it for a good deal of time but eventually gave up on it before I even beat the game. Games like this are more when played with other people and I only had one or two friends to play it with. My boyfriend and I would play it together which was great, but since we spend a lot of time together in the same room and I don’t have 2 computers it was hard to find or justify the time. When the console version of the game was announced earlier this year I was super excited and, as I’m sure you’ve gathered by now, I purchased it.

I bought the digital version on the PlayStation 3 with the hopes of gaming with some buddies, but the thing I was most excited about was the ability to play the game cooperatively in the split-screen mode. This meant that my boyfriend and I could cuddle up and play it together on the same couch in the same room, which is fantastic. I believe the game supports up to four players on a single screen, so implementing this game into hangouts with friends is very possible and likely to be lots of fun. The split-screen feature is well done. Players can’t separate too far from each other or they teleport back to player one, sometimes people running out of range will pull the screen a bit forcing whoever is behind ahead but the teleport thing seems to happen more often which is nice. The one problem I have with it so far is that my boyfriend cannot sign into his PSN profile and earn trophies and complete challenges of his own. It just signs him in as a guest. Maybe I’m wrong and you can sign in to other accounts but I can’t figure out how, if I am missing something please let me know! It’s not a huge deal since it saves his equipment and character level and junk, but it would be nice to have him on his own profile.

Diablo-3-PS3

Having four players on one screen (or even two on one screen) does have it’s downsides, as expected. For example, players cannot upgrade their equipment/skills or shop at a store simultaneously. It has to be done one at a time as it takes up the whole screen. With just my boyfriend and I sharing a screen it’s not a huge deal, we give each other ample time to sort our inventories out and level up, but four people? I don’t know man, that might get really crazy or really boring – or both. Playing Diablo III with others online though is really seamless, as it was with the PC version of the game.

The port itself is really well done. I thought it would be way more awkward not having as many hotkey’s or other perks the PC version offers, but to be honest it plays really well despite being on console. The game still looks great and runs very smooth, the controller/button layout is a lot less clunky than I thought it would be as well making the whole experience really enjoyable as a whole. Everything else is as it was with the PC version, the classes are the same and possess the same powers and abilities. The equipment is more or less the same, though I have heard it is easier to find rare items on the console version and items in the online market are cheaper. I haven’t tried that out myself, but honestly I’m not going to complain. I’d love to find more rare items and pay less for good gear.

Overall, I think this game is worth a try if you haven’t done so already. A lot of people have recently been asking me how the game is and I typically refer them to my Diablo III mini-review that was written back when the game came out on PC. If you have friends (either online or in real life) that want to play with you then pick this game up, it’s a great party game and a ton of fun to play with others. That’s really all I have on this subject folks, be sure to have a great week and game on!

Leave a Reply

