Reasons Why You Wont Find Me Playing Grand Theft Auto V

GTA-V_zps4f7db8cb

With Grand Theft Auto five being released last week I have noticed a resurgence of messages and questions about whether or not I am picking the game up. Each time I respond with a simple “No, I don’t care much for the series” which earns me odd looks and the “What? Why Not?” response. Here is your chance to get the scoop on why I don’t care for the Grand Theft Auto series as a whole and why I will not be playing Grand Theft Auto 5 anytime soon. This is my attempt to clarify my reasons, a lot of people think that my not liking the series means I am talking down about it or see it as a bad game series – which isn’t true. For what they are, the Grand Theft Auto games are well done and feature a lot of great and fun aspects. That doesn’t mean I have to like it, though.

I have played all of the main games in the Grand Theft Auto series since Grand Theft Auto 3 and up to Grand Theft Auto 4. Each time I find myself giving up on the main storyline about half way through and just spending my time in the game driving around until I get bored and find another game to play. I have a strong passion for criminal justice and until just recently I planned on becoming a police officer. Because of this playing as a gangster/thug/criminal was never too appealing on a personal level. I have never been particularly comfortable with the situations the game puts the player in during the main storyline.

GTA5-2

Of course most say that “it’s just a game” and that if uncomfortable situations or realism makes me uncomfortable I shouldn’t be playing games. I don’t think that is very fair since opinions are subjective and my dislike of realistic gang situations does not mean that I cannot like any game ever. I’m the same way with war-themed games like Call of Duty or Battlefield, the realism behind the storyline and the game’s plot is not something I am comfortable with. Until recently the country I live in was involved a war that cost thousands upon thousands of human lives, and I live in an area where gang activity is on the rise, so both of those situations are a little too close to home for me. I prefer science fiction or fantasy themed game myself, or something that doesn’t exist in the way that it is portrayed such as the criminal activity in the Batman Arkham series. Games which allow me to escape my reality are more appealing than games that force me into it in an intense way.

All that seriousness aside, there are other things I dislike about the series aside from my discomfort with the game’s storyline. One of the other main reasons that I dislike the Grand Theft Auto franchise is the fact that I tend to find the game boring in the long-term sense. Sure it’s fun to drive around and listen to music, but after a while it gets old. I have gone on rampages and gained the maximum wanted level, I have done speed runs around the city, and I have even challenged myself to be law-abiding and stop at red lights while avoiding collisions and striking pedestrians. Regardless of what I choose to do with my in-game free time I have eventually gotten bored and moved on, which I suppose has left a sour taste in my mouth.

GTA5-1

Another reason for my disliking the series that I don’t find any of the main character in past games to be even remotely relatable or even likable, for that matter. I like games that feature relatable characters who are likable and I just can’t get into the thug life enough to get why these people are doing such awful things. I understand that not all of the characters are awful people and I’m not implying that they are poorly written, I just personally find them to be bland. Aside from a couple of other nit-picky reasons I think I have covered all the main reasons why I dislike the series. Long story short, these reasons have prevented me from purchasing Grand Theft Auto 5 and enjoying past games in the series.

I play games with a “to each his own” attitude. I may not like a game or I may find it to be offense or just bad in general, but I never judge others for liking it. What I am trying to say is that I don’t think less of people who like the Grand Theft Auto series (heck, my boyfriend likes it and I love him) and I don’t mean to offend anyone with my personal reasons for disliking the games. I feel compelled to state this due to past experienced in which I have been berated by people who misunderstand me, thinking that I am somehow threatening them or disrespecting them on a personal level. I am not trying to do either of those things, just simply expressing my opinions.

Anyway, I hope this clears up any questions in regards to why I don’t care for the Grand Theft Auto series. Of course, you can always ask me if you need further clarification and I’d be happy to help you understand. I hope all of you who purchased Grand Theft Auto 5 are having tons of fun with it, it really looks like a great game. See you next week, folks!

8 thoughts on “Reasons Why You Wont Find Me Playing Grand Theft Auto V”

    1. Thank you! I’ve been seeing a lot of people who agree with my points and I’m honestly relieved :3

      I’ve been pretty frightened about people getting mad at me since I don’t agree with them or whatever since I finished writing this. It’s refreshing to see so many in agreeance or those who at least understand where I am coming from and accept my opinion.

  1. Nice article! Your stance about the violent occurrences in the franchise is understandable AND respectable. I myself dislike GTA protagonists as well. The main reason I play and enjoy the franchise is because of the open-world the game provides. There are countless happenings and events to take part in, and playing with friends is a blast. There is definitely an extent of choice when it comes to the world of GTA, but the missions, as you mentioned, do tend to stay on the “you’re a criminal; commit crimes” side of things (which is a big part of why I have never completed a GTA campaign).

    This reminds me of when, in seventh grade, my class and I were having a friendly debate about violence in video games. While the rest of us were arguing good points (pointing out facts like the games having ratings and that it’s the parent’s choice to get their children the game, blah, blah, blah, let’s not beat a dead horse), one of my classmates raised his hand and told my teacher that he enjoyed killing cops in Grand Theft Auto. And that teacher’s husband is a cop. Not necessarily about the article, but something I will never forget when it comes to topics such as the one in the article.

    1. Thank you! I’m glad that your see my point 🙂

      As far as violence goes, the media is desensitizing people and has been for years. I mean i play my fair share of violent video games but I cannot deny that the gruesome deaths and gratuitous violence today makes violence in real life seem not so bad at times. It’s not just video games though, it’s movies, music and even the nightly news. Violence in the country is at an all time high and people blame video games but really there is a much bigger picture.

Leave a Reply

