Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Revealed

A next-gen version of this year’s hit title Tomb Raider was revealed on Saturday night at VGX. I found this particularly exciting as Tomb Raider was one of my favorite games of this year and happens to be the most recent (and most awesome) addition to one of my all time favorite video game series’.

TrDef1

The best part is that the game was more than a simple upscaled version of the original being re-released for next-gen consoles. It was taken apart and rebuilt according to the official Tomb Raider Tumblr page;

“Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition was developed in tandem with our friends over at United Front Games and Nixxes, who worked with core Crystal Dynamics team members and assets to rebuild Tomb Raider from the ground up for next-gen consoles. The team didn’t simply up-rez the game, they pulled it apart and rebuilt it with obsessive detail and new technology, finally allowing us to reach a vision for the game that we always wanted.”

So the game isn’t simply being ported over, it’s actually been reborn (for lack of a better phrase. Who am I kidding, I wanted to use that so badly) and offers up a whole new experience for Xbox One and PlayStation 4 gamers. One the Xbox One players will be able to use the Kinect to change weapons, attachments, and navigate the menu with voice commands. You will also be able to inspect relics with hand gestures and find new viewpoints by “leaning into the world”. I guess you can lean into the Xbox One? I don’t know.

PlayStation 4 user will be able to cross-play Tomb Raider with the PS Vita. The Dualshock 4 controller will also light up with red and orange colors when the torch is out and the light with “quick flash” while Lara fires weapons. On top of the updated graphics (including TressFX) and native 1080p resolution, the people who pre-order the Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition will get the following goodies:

  • The fully rebuilt game for next-generation consoles
  • The Tomb of the Lost Adventurer
  • Eight DLC multiplayer maps
  • Six DLC multiplayer weapons
  • Four DLC multiplayer characters
  • Six outfits for Lara
  • Dark Horse digital comic book “Tomb Raider: The Beginning
  • Brady Games digital art book “Tomb Raider: The Act of Survival
  • The Final Hours of Tomb Raider” documentary series

*Select retailers are offering an art book packaging which features never before seen concept art for the game.

That’s a lot of awesome stuff. Maybe the multiplayer will be less full of lag and more full of people this time around? I admit, I kind of liked the multiplayer it was just laggy/glitchy and no one ever played it so I had a hard time really getting into it.

The Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition will be available worldwide on January 28, 2014. What a way to start off the year (for Tomb Raider fans, anyway).

TRdefinitive

This remake of a recent game begs the question: Will this become a trend? Are other games from last gen going to be remade in this fashion and then be re-released on the Xbox One and PlayStation 4? I think it would be pretty cool if a few games were to be remade for next-gen in this way, though I’m looking at it from a “I hope the games that get remade are my favorites” perspective. I probably wouldn’t think it was very cool if this was a game like Catherine, which I never played and wasn’t interested in. We all know how popular HD remakes have been lately and tons of games from the GameCube/PS2 era and before are being remade for newer consoles, so I guess this is kind of like the steroid version of that.

Regardless, I am really excited to be able to play one of my favorite games from 2013 on my PlayStation 4. This is going to be a whole new way to experience Lara’s most epic adventure and even though I have purchased the game on two different consoles already (beating it around 5 times or so all together) I’ve already pre-ordered my copy of the Definitive Edition.

I leave you with this one question: What are your thoughts on remakes like this? I’d like to hear your thoughts on the matter. People of the internet (especially people who read our posts here on the Geek Force Network) can be very enlightening, bringing a whole new mindset or thought process to the situation at hand. Comment and let your voice be heard, folks.

5 thoughts on “Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Revealed”

  1. I’ll definitely be picking this up. I loved the original and I need more great games for my PS4. I just hope they haven’t messed with Lara’s model too much. It looks like they changed her face.

    http://i.imgur.com/dfosCTv.png http://i.imgur.com/tuCLGnc.png
    For comparison: http://i.haymarket.net.au/News/20130305123126_Tom%20Raider%20screenshots_2013-03-05_00017.jpg

    I wouldn’t be opposed to seeing more of my favorite games from last generation get a facelift. I’d like to see both Left 4 Dead games released on the new consoles. I don’t play it on Xbox 360 anymore after playing it on PC, but I would love to play the PC version on console.

    1. I would really like to see the Mass Effect series remade like this, or at least the first game. Improved gameplay mechanics and graphics would be so awesome in that game!

  2. I loved the new Tomb Raider game. I don’t think I’ll be buying the PS4 version, though. I just can’t afford to buy it again. I wish they would offer an upgrade plan like some others have done, but I guess those games weren’t totally remade, like they did with Tomb Raider.

Leave a Reply

