GFN News: Up and Running, Redesign Coming

street_fighter_characters

One of the problems with trying to manage a conglomerate of people is accountability. If I ask something of the people working underneath me, I expect to be able to hold myself to the same standards. Unfortunately, without internet for nearly three months, that hasn’t been the case.

Plenty of folks have been posting dutifully during that span, and they have my thanks. But I don’t think words are always the best way to show appreciation, so we’re doing a little more than just that.

See, I finally have internet back, and with it I’m playing catch-up. We should have at least one new contributor to introduce soon. Regular posting from the ATB crew will resume. And on top of that, I’m going to have a full site redesign done by the end of the month.

When trying to pick a look for GFN in the beginning, I wanted a theme that utilized a splash page. I wanted to try to showcase our best and most recent content whenever someone visited our home page. But while there are elements of our current design that I like, I’m not sure the site is especially navigable right now. The front-page slider doesn’t autoscroll, so some people are probably seeing just one post. The latest post list only goes five deep when we average 10-12 new posts a week. It doesn’t seem like folks are getting their time to shine.

So we’re going to fix all that in the near future. In the meantime, we’re still sticking with the mission statement of delivering just about everything you can fit under the geek umbrella (and what a large umbrella that is these days, eh?). Comics, games, movies, music, TV and more — none of that will change. I just want to put some new paint on the walls and maybe kick out a couple of the naughty tenants who haven’t been paying their rent. And so ends this apartment metaphor.

All of this is a long-winded way of saying that things got a little quiet around the holiday season, but GFN is going to step it up in the next two weeks.

And no, I don’t know why there’s a Street Fighter IV picture on this post. Deal with it.

Leave a Reply

