King of the Hill Tournament, Season 1 is OVER

Greetings GFN!

When I started doing this whole casting Dota thing oh so long ago, I had no idea how quickly things would get rolling, or really what form they would take. Strangely enough, almost straight after I started a new trend arose in the lobby games I was playing with friends – a trend that soon became an all consuming obsession with becoming ‘The King’…

In short? A winner-stays-on (or King-of-the-Hill) tournament. Each match would consist of a challenge to the reigning king (the victor of the previous match). The king and the challenger would draft their players from the people in the lobby, and then play a regular Captain’s Mode game (where team captains are also responsible for drafting the heroes that their team will play).

The results were…. unpredictable to say the least. For those who want to watch without any spoilers, here’s the playlist of the entire first season right down to the nailbiting final match.

For those who want to skip to the juicy bits there will be a highlights video out within a few days on my youtube (choosing the choice bits from 11 hours of footage….) – but here’s a brief rundown of what happened:

1: Matches 1-4 see Davidy rocket into an undisputed 4 point lead over the entire field. Playing a range of strategies and reading his opponents like a book, the pace for the tournament was undeniably set…

2: Match 5 sees me take a shot at anti-Monarchism. I’ve been casting the last 4 matches, watching Davidy’s every move and had spent 3 days coming up with the perfect strategy… And it works! After overthrowing the king I’m immediately dethroned myself by Kick in Match 6, ending my dreams of world domination.

3: Matches 7-10 are a repeat of the first 4 – I’m casting a lot and Davidy, after successfully reclaiming his crown, rockets up another 4 points. The current leaderboard is:

Davidy: 8

Me: 1

Kick: 1

So Davidy has already won the tournament, which would run for 15 matches. Silver is still up for grabs though, and I’ve been doing lots of thinking…

4: Match 11 and I again challenge Davidy after spending a few days cowering on the casting couch coming up with stratagems. Breaking out Spirit Breaker (an incredibly effective early game hero unpopular at the moment as he scales badly into late game) I leave Davidy’s spirit broken with one of the quickest wins in the tournament thus far! Unfortunately his immediate counter-insurgency in Match 12 robs me again of my right to be King!

—-

By this stage you may have noticed things were getting very Game-Of-Thronesy

—-

5: Match 13 and the results seem set – Davidy is a mile ahead and likely to win the remaining matches if things continue. I’ve got my 2 points so I’m 99% likely to grab second… when a new challenger arrives. Phaedrus (new to the tournament) challenges Davidy and, in without a doubt the most epic, back and forth, nonsensical game EVER (no lie) becomes our new King. Scoring a victory over Lua Phaedrus is now tied with me in second place…

Davidy: 9

Me: 2

Phaedrus: 2

Kick: 1

6: Match 15 – PHAEDRUS, FIGHT ME! I’m the challenger in this epic battle to determine the silver medal. It’s been a long journey, but my victories have always been off the back of long sessions analysing my opponents from the shadows! Will I be able to beat this randomly-occuring, Davidy-beating, new guy who I have no data on!

Well you’ll just have to go and watch it yourself! Our epic final was certainly epic, but it was also the shortest game in the entire tournament – any bets on who was forced into calling GG?

As always please check out all my stuff – you know the drill:

Like! Comment! Surrender Firstborn! Subscribe!

One thought on “King of the Hill Tournament, Season 1 is OVER”

Leave a Reply

