The Gift of Television – What I’ve Been Watching Lately

After childhood I sort of stopped watching television shows. I watched Friends, maybe whatever was on Cartoon Network when I got home from school, and not much else. This carried on throughout my teenage years and into my young adult life. Now, at the age of 24, I find myself in quite the dilemma – I’m actually watching too many shows at once. It’s hard to go from watching nothing to being involved in about five to six television shows all at once, almost all of them having new episodes weekly. This week I’d like to let you all in to my newly found life in the world of television shows, so what have I been watching lately?

Supernatural:

"Saving people, hunting things. The family business."
“Saving people, hunting things. The family business.”

If any of you follow me on Twitter or maybe just know anything at all about me you’ll know I’m a super huge, super crazy Supernatural fan. I started watching the show last fall simply because I wanted to see what everyone was talking about. I had friends telling me it was great, making inside jokes I didn’t understand and I saw people going on and on about some old, black Impala. After watching the first episode of Season 1 I was sucked into the Supernatural fandom headfirst and I have loved every single minute of it since.

This past week I found myself in quite the predicament though as I have finally caught up with the show completely. You see, I had previously been watching it on Netflix then on Hulu since I was behind, but now I am totally up to date. I need my Winchester fix and now I have to wait until the next episode comes on TV. This is both good and bad; it’s good since nothing can be spoiled for me but bad since now I can only watch one new episode a week. Woe is me.

Once Upon A Time:

"She finds a way. She always finds a way."
“She finds a way. She always finds a way.”

A friend suggested I give this show a shot awhile back considering I’m really into fairy tales and the like. I found the plot interesting so I watched a couple of episodes, now I’m hooked.

I’m not too far into Once, maybe about 6 episodes into Season 3 (and I haven’t even started with the Once Upon a Time in Wonderland yet) but it’s coming along nicely. I’m still very interested in the plot and the turns it has taken. I also love their adaptations of classic characters such as Peter Pan and Rumpelstiltskin, plus the original characters like Emma Swan. It’s a really cool show and I enjoy seeing what is in store for everyone in each episode.

Grimm:

"I'm not asking you as a cop, so don't expect me to behave like one."
“I’m not asking you as a cop, so don’t expect me to behave like one.”

Netflix actually recommended this one to me for watching Once Upon A Time so I watched it and fell instantly in love. The Grimm’s Fairy Tales are some of my favorite tales out there so seeing this really awesome rendition of those stories with the Vessen and Grimm’s is super cool.

I really like the narrative and the plot direction in general. I feel like every episode is just that much better than the previous one. I enjoy the way all the characters work and develop together, it’s what keeps me coming back for more. I’m also not too far into this one, I’m maybe 8 or so episodes in to Season 3 since I’ve been alternating between Grimm and Once. I can’t wait to see more Grimm, though. It’s getting so good!

Sherlock:

"Dear God. What is it like in your funny little brains? It must be so boring."
“Dear God. What is it like in your funny little brains? It must be so boring.”

My boyfriend and I got into this one together recently and have been having such a hard time with the fact that there are only 9 episodes available. Having just watched the last episode of Season 3 last night, I feel confident in saying that this show is absolutely spectacular from beginning to end, every episode, every time. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are stunning in the roles of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson.

Sherlock is probably one of the best shows I have ever had the pleasure to watch. It’s so well done and enjoyable on every level possible. Other fans will agree, it’s a must watch for pretty much anyone who watches anything. Now there is the long wait for Season 4, which is apparently not airing until 2016.

/sigh of despair

The Walking Dead:

"How many walkers have you killed? How many people have you killed? Why?"
“How many walkers have you killed? How many people have you killed? Why?”

I’ve been a huge The Walking Dead fan since the show first aired. As a lot of you are aware, I’m really into zombies. I love zombie video games and movies, but sometimes I feel like they are use the same tired narrative formula over and over again: Zombie apocalypse, kill zombies, meet people, kill zombies, people die, kill more zombies, rinse and repeat. The thing I love about AMC’s The Walking Dead is that it focuses less on the zombies and is more centered around the human element. We see more character development from well thought out characters with differing personalities and backgrounds as opposed to the standard run-of-the-mill zombie apocalypse survivors seen in other sources. While zombies are obviously a large part of the overall dynamic, the show isn’t just about killing zombies.

I am totally caught up on this one, I watch the newest episode every Sunday and spend my whole week in anticipation for what will happen next in the show. I have yet to read the comic book series but plan to soon, I hear it’s the tops if you love the show.

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.:

"I didn't realize that Big Brother was this big."
“I didn’t realize that Big Brother was this big.”

I watch Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. weekly with my boyfriend, much like I do with The Walking Dead, as we are both fans of the show. It took me a little longer to get into it than it took him, but we are both pretty hooked at this point. I had a tough time originally with the plot, it just didn’t really rope me in immediately like I was expecting it to. After a couple of episode though I was right there in the mix and enjoying it.

This show is a really cool way to fill the gap between the yearly Marvel superhero movies that I love. I get a little taste of the universe each week and then eventually a movie comes out and then back to the show. It’s pretty awesome. I’m a huge Agent May fan, by the way. She is so kick-ass!

~~~

Well, that about sums it up. These are the shows I have been watching lately and they are all super awesome from my point of view. I have recently learned about some awesome shows out there that I have just been missing out on, so I have lots of catch up to do with other series’. My next adventure will be giving Arrow and Orphan Black a shot to see what I think of those, since I tend to hear a lot of good things about both of them.

What have you been watching lately?

More LadyCroft3

linksaveszelda.com | Twitter | Facebook

2 thoughts on “The Gift of Television – What I’ve Been Watching Lately”

  1. Sherlock is definitely a great show, but I hadn’t heard that we would have to wait that long for the next season. That kinda sucks.

    I’ve also been watching TWD since the beginning and watch it every week. You should love the comics!

    I’ve liked SHIELD so far. I hope they start having more guest stars like they did with Sif this past week.

    I’m also about to give Orphan Black a try. I just recorded the first two episodes today, actually.

Leave a Reply

