Tips For Powering Through That Gamer Slump

It seems as if for the past few months most gamers, myself included, have been in somewhat of a gaming slump. Since this year has been pretty bland and slow paced as far as new game releases go, people just don’t know what to do in the down time between games. I personally don’t like the idea of not playing anything at all, so I have come up with a few ideas that have helped me in these “hard times” with the hopes that they will also help you folks out.

Replay a Game or Two

I have done this a lot over the years. When there isn’t anything new out and nothing is going to be released soon I just pick up an older game and play it again. It’s fun to go back and replay games you really like or those you don’t remember very well. I know some folks who recently decided to go through older games again, like the Mass Effect or Bioshock series’, in order to fill up the space between game releases. It’s a great way to relax and enjoy yourself with a classic.

This can also mean playing multiplayer games like Call of Duty or Battlefield to kill time. When I find myself feeling bored and nothing really sounds good, gaming-wise, I just pop in Battlefield 4 and kill a few hours playing team death match. It’s definitely a viable option for those of you who enjoy multiplayer.

Do Some Trophy/Achievement Hunting

I’m no trophy hunter, but sometimes when I have nothing else to do I go back into a game I may have already played or beat and try to get a few trophies. It can be entertaining and a fun way to spend an otherwise boring afternoon/morning/evening/entire day. Especially if they are challenging and take some time to get, then if feels worthwhile.

I know that a lot of the time I don’t go crazy for trophies because I just don’t have the time or I don’t care to bother with them, but if nothing else is going on then why not?

Get Something New

It’s simple, sometimes we just need something new. I don’t necessarily mean a brand new game or anything, but maybe something new to you. A game genre you don’t usually play or an indie game that looks good but you previously didn’t have the time to play. A simple game that is time-consuming and/or fun to play that will help you to kill some time between the big game releases is basically what I am talking about here.

This is especially easy if you have a gaming PC and Steam since there are tons of fun games that are less that $5. Keep you eye out for sales on consoles too, they aren’t always super advertised and you can find some good deals if you just keep an eye out for them. Also, if you have Xbox Live Gold or PlayStation Plus then you can get discounts on various games as well as free games every month.

~~~

Those are just a few tips that I hope those of you in the gamer slump find helpful. If you have any other tips be sure to share them in the comments. You never know who you might help out. After all, us gamers have to stick together!

More LadyCroft3

linksaveszelda.com | Twitter | Facebook

6 thoughts on “Tips For Powering Through That Gamer Slump”

  1. Joining Steam has been a huge help in staving off the gaming blues — I only wish I could be on it more often! But you’re right that having access to cheap games, often smaller games that don’t require huge time investments, can be a great way to get out of a gaming slump. (It’s also great for just staying in touch with what’s going on in gaming, as I tend to fall out of the news loop when I’m not gaming often.)

    To add to your point about achievements, I find that picking up missed sidequests in especially large games also works. (Seems I always have at least a few unplayed sidequests in the likes of GTA, Skyrim, etc.) Plus, sometimes a quick jaunt into an older game might lead you right back to your first point: a full replay. 🙂

    1. That’s true, missed sidequests are also fun to run through and can lead into a full replay. There’s so much to do, in all honesty I don’t know how we ever get into these slumps haha. I think a little brainstorming like this really helps. 🙂

  2. I have only been playing one main game because it is time consuming enough just having this one. Besides this there are a couple games on the phone just to mess with occasionally. Sometimes when I don’t feel like playing, I’ll pull up a video of a Let’s Play from one of my older favorites.

Leave a Reply

