A Week in Gaming – All About The Indie Games

This week I got the opportunity to play two new games, well new for me anyway. The newest of course was Daylight, a new indie survival horror game released this week for PC and PS4. The other was Thomas Was Alone which I ended up trying for the first time this week on my PS Vita. Sit tight as I regale you with a little story about my week in gaming which was spent with a couple of great indie titles.

Daylight:

Daylight is a game that I have been looking forward to for a while. It’s a brand new indie title from Zombie Studios which was written by Jessica Chobot, who also stars as the voice of the game’s protagonist. It’s a survival horror game that follows the footsteps of games like Outlast which focus mostly on running and hiding rather than fighting the enemy. Though honestly I feel that it falls somewhere in-between in the respect. While it is smart to run away from the enemy in the game there are times in which you have to confront it, fighting it off with a light source such as a flare. This aspect of the gameplay sets Daylight apart from the games most people compare it to, in my opinion, which makes for a unique gaming experience.

Daylight-2

I haven’t really had the opportunity to play a whole lot of Daylight, but what I have played has been pretty good. I really enjoy the story thus far, it’s classically convoluted yet somehow still intriguing. It really fits the genre. The only thing I’m having a hard time with is the setting. Considering I played through Outlast a bunch of times recently I am a little burned out on Hospitals/Mental Institutions, so it’s not really the game’s fault but more my own. From what I am seeing it looks like there are a variety of other environments in the game though, so I’m looking forward to seeing some of those. This game is also a real challenge. I mean it’s not overly frightening to me but the enemy keeps kicking my ass, making the game a bit more of a challenge than I was expecting – which of course isn’t a bad thing. I’m looking forward to playing more of this in the coming days.

Thomas Was Alone:

I’ve been meaning to get my hands on Thomas Was Alone for a while now but it always slipped my mind. It was recently made free for PS Plus subscribers for the PlayStation 3 and PS Vita, so in a state of boredom last week I downloaded it on my Vita and started it up. The game is really a lot of fun so far. I like the overall style of the game and the narration. I don’t know why I waited so long to play Thomas Was Alone but I’m glad I did. I was really missing out on this fun indie title.

TWA-2

One of my favorite things about this game is the characters. I think it’s so interesting that all these simple little blocks and shapes have such vivid personalities without ever really doing much. The narration gives them thoughts, goals, personalities and life. Each one of them is different and has different abilities, so they all work together to help one another get through the level. Their personalities have a lot of range too, Thomas for example is pretty simple, he’s just trying to understand what is going on in this strange new world. Claire on the other hand is more complex, she considers herself a superhero and she must help and protect the others with her ability to float on the water. All these blocks and shapes have these little quirks and I just think that is so creative and cool. If you haven’t played this one I recommend picking it up, it’s been great fun so far.

That is what my week in gaming looked like, so what games have you all been playing this week?

More LadyCroft3

linksaveszelda.com | Twitter | Facebook

Be sure to keep an eye on linksaveszelda.com in the coming weeks for a review of Daylight and possibly a mini-review for Thomas Was Alone. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

