Take My Money: The Allure Of Video Game Deluxe Or Collector’s Editions

I’m a huge Dragon Age fan. HUGE! There, I’ve said it. This may not come as a surprise to most people who either know me in real life or have been following my blog regularly. I credit this series for fully cementing me into the world of gaming and it has since convinced me to explore more games beyond Dragon Age. I’ve played other great games after Dragon Age and will continue to play other future games yet to be realized, probably into my old age. My love for this series knows no bounds and the upcoming Dragon Age: Inquisition in November has me counting down the days until its release date. The people at Bioware are well aware of fans’ high expectations for the next installment in the series and, rightfully so, they have come out with deluxe editions and a limited quantity of a collector’s edition for Inquisition.

I consider myself a practical and cheap spender when it comes to money. I very rarely buy video games the first day it comes out or any collector’s editions a game may have. I’m perfectly fine with waiting until a game drops down in price or just getting the game without the bells and whistles it comes with. But when you have that one game or series you absolutely adore, the desire to get the special edition with all the extra goodies becomes way too hard to pass up. Dragon Age is one of those few exceptions that makes me weak in the knees to pre-order and get the special edition.

During the summer, Bioware and GameStop announced they were going to make a limited special collector’s edition for Inquisition available for pre-order. The collector’s edition is massive and contains everything a Dragon Age fan could want. The collector’s edition has already sold out, but you can check the details of what it included here. As tempting as it was to want to throw my money down on the collector’s edition, it wasn’t so attractive when I saw the price for it. I may be a Dragon Age fangirl, but I’m not crazy. My current living situation at the moment also doesn’t afford me enough space to even figure out where I can safely store the collector’s edition if I purchased it. Shiny, yes, but not a good enough reason to buy it.

Such a beautiful edition...if only it wasn't so expensive.
Such a beautiful edition…if only it wasn’t so expensive.

The deluxe edition of Inquisition, on the other hand, is more up my alley. It includes a ton of in-game extras and I know I’ll be putting those to good use. The deluxe edition of the game is a bit pricey, but I think it’s worth it in the end. I’ll be getting my money’s worth because I’ll be living, eating, and breathing that game until I reach the final cutscene of the game. The more you love a series, the more willing you are at dishing out the extra cash for the in-game extras. At least that has been the case for me when I became a gamer.

I have yet to pre-order my copy of Dragon Age: Inquisition, but that will easily change within the next week or two. I may be spending a lot for a single video game, but it’s a video game I’m hoping will end my 2014 in games on a rather high note.

Ever have one video game that you absolutely had to get the deluxe or collector’s edition for? Do you feel like you get your money’s worth?

8 thoughts on “Take My Money: The Allure Of Video Game Deluxe Or Collector’s Editions”

  1. This was a long time ago but I bought the collector’s edition of Command & Conquer: Tiberian Sun. Was a mistake because the game was not too good. Although, I still have the little metal NOD soldier that came with it.

    1. Yeah, I’m pretty cautious about what I throw away my money on. My biggest fear is spending a lot on one game’s collector’s edition only to realize it wasn’t worth it in the end.

  2. I have never bought one of the collector’s editions before. There have been a couple of tempting ones, but I’ve never made the plunge before because of the price. Just like you, that’s what stopped me here too. I pre-ordered the deluxe edition of Inquisition. As much as I love Dragon Age, $180 is just too expensive for me. The only game series that I MIGHT shell that much money out for is Mass Effect, but it would depend on my financial status at the time. It would also depend on what they included in that edition. Correction on my earlier statement. I had never bought a collector’s edition before, but I did pre-order the $100 batmobile collector’s edition for Arkham Knight. That’s how a collector’s edition should be done. Lot of bang for the buck and I’m looking forward to it! I’m also really, really looking forward to my deluxe edition of Dragon Age!

    1. I’ve never really bought any collector’s edition for any game so far. The only ones I have bought are the special edition game ones where it includes a lot of in-game exclusives, but even such purchases are few and far between for me.

      Getting your money’s worth for these types of editions are definitely a huge factor for whether or not you’re willing to shell out the cash. I certainly have seen some gorgeous collector’s editions for games, but so far I’ve managed to keep myself from buying those. The urge hasn’t been too strong…not yet at least!

    1. Dragon Age is a third-person fantasy RPG game. If you’re into those, I’d recommend playing the first game before playing Inquisition. It’s not really necessary, but you’ll get a better feel of the background of the world through the first game I think.

  3. As a (poor) uni student I usually wait until the price drops. I am SUPER EAGER to play DA Inquisition,I must admit it. But at the same time…I don’t have much money hahaha!
    I wish so much to be able to buy all those Collector’s Edition…sigh! T^T

    1. Yeah, when you’re on a limited budget it’s really hard to buy these special editions when you want to. Usually your best bet are price drops or buy it used when it becomes available after a few months.

Leave a Reply

